How Christianity Enables Child Abuse

On Kirk Franklin, respect, and ‘Biblical’ abuse

Kitty Williams
7 min readApr 13, 2021
Photo by Samantha Sophia on Unsplash

Kirk Franklin, the Grammy award winning gospel music artist, was recently exposed in a recording of a phone conversation he had with his adult son, Kerrion Franklin.

In it, Kirk can be heard saying to his son “You need to get your skinny motherfucking ass back out the goddamn way before I put my foot in your ass.” he continues “I will break your neck if you ever disrespect me,” before hanging up. Kerrion posted the audio online, saying “This is why I’m done. No father should speak to their children like this.”

Kirk issued an apology, but as is usually the case when powerful and prominent people get caught doing something wrong, the apology is more of an “I’m sorry I got caught” and “I’m sorry this might negatively affect my career and therefore my finances and lifestyle”. I can smell the bullshit from wherever Kirk is recording his faux apology from.

Kirk plays the victim well, making sad faces and telling the world how “toxic” his family’s relationship with his son is. It’s the classic story of the prodigal son and the loving, long-suffering father, waiting for him to return.

Of course people were quick to take up for Kirk Franklin. As a powerful Christian man it seems he can do no wrong. The abusive…

--

--

Kitty Williams

writer, poet, bookworm, daydreamer, moon worshipper, & devoted cat mom